Sessions and Salons

Photo Salon

Below are a list of the sessions that typically are held during convention. Please contact the appropriate chair listed below if you require additional information or would like to be a presenter.

Presentations:

Anyone who is planning on presenting in a session should contact the chair of the appropriate session and let them know you would like to present. Please provide the subject of the presentation, the time you will require, and any audio/visual equipment you need.

Abstracts: You should also provide provide an abstract, up to 250 words, for the Conventions Program. Abstracts should be a summary of conclusions and results, not merely a statement of what the presentation is about.

When submitting abstracts, please provide each presenter’s name and email address. The presenter’s affiliation and/or mailing address can be included if desired.

Note: Abstracts will be published as submitted so please proofread them before submitting them. Abstracts longer than 250 words will be returned to be shortened.

Facilities Request Form: If you are responsible for an event please submit a “Sessions & School Facilities Questionnaire” describing your event. The questionnaire is available as a PDF form.

Deadlines: The Convention Program will be going to the printer around July 1. The following deadlines are firm and the program chairs of individual sessions must send the following to the program chair by the date shown:

  • June 15, 2020 – All event descriptions, session descriptions, advertising, and any other general material for the Program must be submitted by this date. Late submissions are likely to be ignored.
  • June 25, 2020 – Final session schedules and abstracts must be submitted by this date.  Late submissions (even by a few hours) are unlikely to get in the Program.

2020 NSS Convention Session Information

SESSION CONTACT EMAIL
Archaeology Session
Biospeleology SessionSarah Keenan    swkeenan@gmail.com
Cave Digging Session
Cave Diving Session
Cave Photography Session
Cave Video Section Session   Dave Sockysockydr@cox.net
Comm. & Electronics SessionJohn DeRoojderoo@eitronix.com
Conservation Session
Culture of Caves, Cavers and Caving
John Wilson & Maria Perezjmwgeo@gmail.com & maria.perez@mail.wvu.edu
Geology & Geography SessionKatie Schmidkschmid3@gmail.com
International Exploration SessionMark Minton & Yvonne Dromsmminton@caver.net & vonnycaver@yahoo.com
NCRC SessionAnmar Mirzaanmar.mirza@gmail.com
Spelean History SessionDean Snyder & Bob Hokedsnyder3@ptd.net& bob@rhoke.net
State Cave SurveysHoward Kalnitzhkalnitz@fuse.net
Survey & Cartography SessionCarol Veselycavesely@gmail.com
U.S. Exploration SessionPat Kambesispat.kambesis@wku.edu
Vertical Session
West Virginia Caving SessionNikki Foxnikkicfox@yahoo.com

2020 NSS Convention Salons

For detailed salon information go to (https://caves.org/committee/salons)

SALONS CONTACT CONTACT EMAIL
Cartographic SalonDwight Livingstoncartsalon@caves.org
Cave Ballad SalonRoland Vinyardballadsalon@caves.org
Fine Arts SalonCarolina Shrewsburyfasalon@caves.org
Graphic Art SalonBlake Jördancoverartsalon@caves.org
MultiMedia Program SalonDavid Sockyvideosalon@caves.org
Photo SalonDean Wisemanphotosalon@caves.org
Print SalonCady Soukupprintsalon@caves.org
Symbolic Emblem SalonDave Deckeremblemsalon@caves.org
T-Shirt SalonBlake Jördantshirtsalon@caves.org
Video SalonDavid Sockyvideosalon@caves.org

Additional Sessions and Workshops

Additional sessions, workshops, or other activities are welcome.  If you are interested in organizing an activity please notify the Program Chair to get the activity in the schedule.